March 3, 2024
7 Guests and Online


The Warlock

Our Rating
User Rating
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (11 votes, average: 2.09 out of 5)

The Warlock is a rapper out of New Mexico.  He hit us up to give his newest CD a listen.  Here is a little background on his journey in music:

The Warlock is an aspiring underground Hispanic American hip hop artist who was born in the small town of Othello, Washington but has since relocated to Los Lunas, New Mexico.  He started rapping in late October 2002 at the age of thirteen.  After many nights free styling and cyphering, he has raised the bar with venomous rhymes.  His writing has evolved and become stronger.  His flow has progressed steadily to the point where he has become one of the most intricately strong lyricists in the 505.  After eight years honing his skills, his experience shines brightly in his debut full length album entitled “Microphone Decompisition.”  Since its release he has completed eight other projects all being more successful than the last!


Track listing

  1. Intro
  2. Erupt
  3. It’s Halloween
  4. I don’t know what I’m doin’
  5. The Green River Killer
  6. Lesson of Imperfection
  7. Generic Horrorcore
  8. Inconceivable
  9. Suicidalist

 Track by track review and rating

  1. Intro- Basic intro to the CD.  The beat is very slow and contains a lot of background sounds.  It also has talking limited to “The Warlock” and “Imperfection”  N/A
  2. Erupt- Track has a good old school beat.  The lyrics and music volumes need to be adjusted and evened out.  Track has one long verse and no hook.  5/10
  3. It’s Halloween- A slower beat with electronic organ backing.  The verses are performed very lazily and the hook is not well designed.  This could be a good track with proper editing, adjustment of levels, and the lyrics being performed with more effort.  4/10
  4. I don’t know what I’m doin’- The track music is so loud the vocals are being shouted over the beat.  Once again the lyrics are performed with almost no emotion or intent.  The hook plays throughout the track and is very distracting.  5/10
  5. The Green River Killer- The beat is very good in this track.  Vocals are not done with enough energy although the content of the track is good.  The hook is disjointed and leaves the listener wanting more.  4/10
  6. Lesson of Imperfection- An awesome beat on this track.  The music is a little too loud and the levels need to be worked better.  The vocals are performed much better here.  7/10
  7. Generic Horrorcore- This track is borderline unlistenable.  It sounds like an intentional parody of Horrorcore music and definitely makes it’s point.  The music is awful, the lyrics are meaningless, and the recording is a waste of space.  1/10
  8. Inconceivable- This track has the second best beat on the album.  Lyrics are done well.  Once again the levels need work.  7/10
  9. Suicidalist- A complex and distracting beat.  The levels need a lot of work.  The vocals are performed very lackluster and leave a lot to be desired.  5/10

Overall Album Rating:  4.5/10

Conclusion:  This is the shortest album I have had to review at just 25 min.  After learning his history and seeing that he is releasing a free album once every other month it makes sense.  When an artist does this it makes every release subpar.  In reality any musician should take the time to ensure what they release is well written, performed, and mixed.  At most an artist should release 1-2 albums a year tops.  This album is a good example of this.  Had he taken the time and money to have it mixed by a professional studio, had someone giving constructive criticism, and put more effort into the actual performance this could have come off well.  Without those this album is not an album recommended and lives up to the title “Imperfection”

Favorite Tracks:

  1. Lessons of Imperfections
  2. Inconceivable


  • 25 Minutes

Record Label:

  • Independent

Release Date:

  • 10/27/2012





Enjoy the article so far? Recommend it to your friends and peers.


Be the first to our articles and get the latest updates.

    Faygoluvers Comments

  1. The Warlock

    The Warlock

    Comment posted on Monday, January 14th, 2013 11:35 am GMT -6 at 11:35 am

    haha yeah that shit wasnt mixed & mastered at all & i agree some tracks couldve/shouldve had more emotion in the delivery… im surprised you like “Inconceivable” tho that was one of the weaker tracks imo.. & bar for bar the songs are pretty well written.. lyrically speaking.. haha thanks for takin the time to review tho yo.. hopefully i’ll be able to impress you allot more with my future projects..

  2. juggalotus0069


    Comment posted on Tuesday, January 15th, 2013 08:23 pm GMT -6 at 8:23 pm

    Hey I enjoy reviewing everything. Thanks for taking my opinion as just that. Keep doing what you do man and hopefully you will really blow me away.



    Comment posted on Tuesday, January 15th, 2013 07:59 pm GMT -6 at 7:59 pm

    It’s Halloween is my favorite song on this album, actually probably my favorite song I’ve heard from Warlock, but i’m biased ‘cuz i’m a Halloween freak and love all things horror, hope to hear more of the wicket shit from Warlock again. MCL

  4. sketchez

    Comment posted on Wednesday, January 30th, 2013 05:43 am GMT -6 at 5:43 am

    i’ve made better sounds sittin on the toilet! this is probably the worst rapper i ever heard in my life

  5. The Warlock

    The Warlock

    Comment posted on Thursday, January 31st, 2013 10:33 am GMT -6 at 10:33 am

    @sketchez i appreciate the constructive criticism faggot…. smh….

You must be logged in to post a comment.